Model for Structured Reflection

Model for Structured Reflection. Adapted from a document produced by Brighton University.

Reflective practice is designed for professionals engaged in life-long learning and promotes the development of independent, qualified and self-directed practitioners. Reflection can be viewed on several levels such as; Simple problem solving, using literature and theories to illuminate the analysis of the scenario under review, and considerations of broader forces of issues such as justice and emancipation and other political factors. Three types of reflective practice are discussed, Gibbs (1998) Reflective Cycle, John’s (2000) Model for Structured Reflection and Rolfe et al (2001) Framework for Reflexive Practice. Gibbs (1998), is a straightforward cycle of reflection, encouraging description of the situation, analysis of feelings, evaluation of experience, analysis to make sense of the experience, and how you change the situation if repeated. Rolfe et al (2001) asks three question: What? (descriptive level of reflection), So what? (theory and knowledge) And Now what? (action-oriented). Action is considered the last stage of the reflective process.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s